FINLAND 100 YEARS OF INDEPENDENT (Anniversary 2017)

Hello again, dear readers!
It’s soon new year. I can’t believe where did this year go…again. It’s always the same thing. I’m always wondering where that 365 days goes. It just flyes away everytime…and every year ”is shorter” than the last one…and every time I will be older and older…

This new year is a big celebration for finnish cause we’re celebrating our 100 years of independent this year. So 2017 is our big anniversary. It’s interesting to see what this celebration includes. I hope this year is very good for Finland and for finnish people…but of course everybody else too…around the world! 

I wanted to ask you have you made some new years promises to yourselves? I haven’t. It’s never been my habit. Maybe I should try it this year. If I just find out what to promise.

I have also wondered how people celebrate christmas around the world. I know I can get the answer from you. So tell me! How do you celebrate christmas in your country? (What about new year?)

By the way this darkness is killing me…I’m just waiting it goes away. I think people here in north should sleep winter sleep like bears. Christmas should be in october or in november and then we could sleep ’till february, when there is much more light. That would be nice!

Until new year comes…

Have a nice friday…

7 ajatusta artikkelista “FINLAND 100 YEARS OF INDEPENDENT (Anniversary 2017)

  1. I came to look because Opher’s reblog brought me here. I’m a Finn living in Australia. I do identify very strongly with my cultural roots and heritage even though I have lived most of my life on the other side of the world. I hadn’t realised it was 100 years of independence this year. Remiss of me 😦
    My extended family is a very multicultural mix- my own little family is Finnish, Indian and Filipino. My extended family includes Australians, English, Papua New Guinean to name just a few.
    Christmas for us is still very influenced by our Finnish roots. We celebrate on Christmas Eve. The food has diversified of course and is less ’heavy’ given here it is summer and often very hot. We have karjalan piirakka served with egg butter, smoked salmon and other goodies for example. Our own Christmas tradition developed over many years,
    Hope you have a wonderful 2017, Tanssityttö 🙂

  2. I sended too early my post…It’s interesting you have ”karjalan piirakka” at christmas table. Usually we eat in Finland ”christmas ryemeal bred” at that time. It’s so good with christmas casserolles…but you can’t by it in Australia, I know that…Do you eat ham or turkey? Thank you for telling me this. It was so nice to hear!

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s