THE SUMMER SEASON IS APPROACHING

KESÄ TEKEE KOVAA VAUHTIA TULOAAN

The summer season has finally begun… at least when it comes to ice cream. Yesterday, I bought my first ice cream cone from a kiosk. It tasted incredibly delicious on such a summery day, which finally, after a long wait, arrived here in Finland as well. I chose a rich rum and raisin flavor for my ice cream, which had good-sized pieces of raisins in it. I was so caught up in indulging that I forgot to take a picture, which would have been a fun addition for you to see.

I saw this kind of fellow outside yesterday. I have never seen such a big beetle (or something like that) in Finland.

Although temperatures have risen quickly from the freezing weather of a few days ago, the trees still aren’t blooming properly. In recent years, it’s been usually greener around this time, but the spring was very cold for a long time, it snowed, and there were even sleet showers just over a week ago when my partner and I were driving and suddenly exclaimed, ”oh my goodness, what is it coming there?” (It wasn’t a goal, like in the historic Ice Hockey World Championship ’95 victory song ”Ihanaa leijonat, ihanaa” (Wonderful Lions, wonderful) where our legendary commentator Antero Mertaranta uttered those same words). This time it was sleet coming.


ICE HOCKEY WORLD CHAMPION CHIPS

That was a great segue to the next topic. Namely with warm weather, traditional spring events have also arrived. As every year, spring brought along (a bit late, but still) the Ice Hockey World Championships, which begun today. Unfortunately, Finland lost their first game against the USA today, 4-1. Well, you can’t always win, not even every time, like the character from the game program (that was familiar in Finland with in my youth), Hugo the troll used to say. Tomorrow with a clean slate against Germany.


THE EUROVISION SONG CONTEST 2023

Also, the Eurovision Song Contest is here again. The winner of Eurovision will be decided in tomorrow’s final. Finland made it to the final after qualifying in Tuesday’s first semifinal.
Finland’s Eurovision representative, ”Käärijä,” is probably already familiar to many, but if it isn’t to you, I’ve included a link to his winning performance in the UMK competition here (where Finland’s Eurovision representative is chosen). Personally, I’m not a big fan of the song, but it might have a chance of doing well. ”Cha Cha Cha” is unique and different from the other performances, also Käärijä is a nice, likable, and charismatic person… Let’s see. You never know. Anything can happen in Eurovision.

Jätä kommentti