EASTER EGGS

Easter is (almost) over (some are still celebrating Easter Monday, even though it’s already over here in Finland) but I still wanted to paint some eggs because I had a good idea for them. We didn’t have any eggs in the fridge until late yesterday evening when we went to the store to buy some. However, I didn’t have the energy to paint them last night, so I did it today instead.


In the photos, you can see the result. The color didn’t seem to adhere well to the surface of the eggs; for some reason, it repelled my watercolors quite a bit. It’s been many years since I last painted eggs, but I don’t remember it being this difficult before. The patterns didn’t turn out exactly as I wanted, but in the end, I managed to achieve something. As you can see from the photos, one of the eggs is mimicked to look like oak, one like green marble, and one like Carrara marble. I learned the mimicking technique (=faux painting) about 20 years ago at a painter’s vocational school. They are at least a bit different from the usual Easter eggs.

GOOD NIGHT!

5 ajatusta artikkelista “EASTER EGGS

    • Thank you!Considering the challenges, I’m also pleased with the result, especially the oak looks just right, but I’ve always been best at imitating it (according to my teachers, too). Painting eggs is a bit different compared to painting other surfaces but the technique is essentially the same.

    • Artificial intelligence actually provided these instructions when I checked today. It didn’t occur to me to check yesterday…
      ”Eggs can resist watercolor because their surface may be waxed or greasy, making it difficult for the color to adhere. Additionally, the egg surface may be moist, making it challenging for watercolors to stick. It is recommended to clean the eggs before painting to ensure better adhesion. Additionally, using special painting techniques or primers can improve color durability on the egg surface.”

Jätä kommentti