GRANDMA’S COCONUT BARS

I finally managed to publish this delicious Grandma’s coconut bar recipe that I tried during winter. This was so good that I have to make it again sometime. (I just haven’t been able to bake or do much of anything lately, except for some moving tasks, cleaning, laundry, and other household chores…) I highly recommend giving it a try.

Sheet pan
(the recipe can be halved if using a baking dish (about 25×25) instead of a sheet pan, just like I did)
175 g butter

1 dl milk

3 eggs

2.5 dl sugar

4 dl all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp vanilla sugar

Tosca Topping

100 g butter

1 dl sugar

½ dl light syrup

2 tbsp all-purpose flour

2 tbsp milk

150 g coconut flakes

Instructions: Melt the butter. Add the milk. Beat the eggs and sugar until fluffy. Mix the dry ingredients together. Alternately add the melted butter-milk mixture and the flour mixture to the egg-sugar foam. Mix gently until smooth. Bake the base at 175 degrees Celsius for about 20 minutes on the middle rack of the oven.

For the tosca topping, melt the butter. Add the other ingredients and mix until smooth. Spread the mixture over the base and bake for another 10 minutes. Allow to cool before cutting into squares.

Homemade Grandma's coconut bars
I decorated these bars with my and my partner’s initials using a sugar glaze.

I finally decorated these bars with (partially colored) sugar glaze and for serving, I added some light syrup (along with coconut-flavored Alpro soy, which is a delicious vegan yogurt). Any vegan yogurt will do. With these the bars became even more moist (but these are not necessary to add if you don’t want to).

Just enjoy it with a cup of coffee or tea. Yum!

Check out my twitter account: https://twitter.com/AMR2050360

If you want some more baking recipes, check these out too:

Cream cheese Brownies

ADVENT CALENDAR DOOR 8 (Oven rice porridge)

VALENTINE’S DAY

PANCAKES

BLACK YEAR 2020 (& best posts)

3 ajatusta artikkelista “GRANDMA’S COCONUT BARS

  1. Paluuviite: 2023-2024 – Tanssitytön blogi

Jätä kommentti